Celtic plc

The club was established in 1887, and played its first game in 1888. As of 2017, Celtic had won the Scottish championship on 48 occasions, the Scottish Cup 36 times, the Scottish League Cup 16 times and are the only Scottish team to win the European Cup (in 1967). Celtic’s home stadium is Celtic Park, the biggest football stadium in Scotland, with a capacity of 60,411.

The company has been publicy traded (plc) since 1993, transferring from the main list at the London Stock Exchange to the AIM exchange in 2005.

Chelsea Football Club Ltd.

Chelsea were founded on 14 March 1905 and were elected to the Football League shortly afterwards. In 1982 Chelsea were struggling financially and the stadium freehold had been sold to property developers, meaning the club faced losing its home. At this point it was acquired by Ken Bates for the nominal sum of £1. Bates then formed Chelsea Village plc which was floated on the Alternative Investment Market (AIM), but after the 2003 close season purchase by Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich (for £140 million) the club was de-listed.

Cambridge United Football Club Ltd.

The club was founded in 1912 as Abbey United, turning professional in 1949 and changing its name to Cambridge United in 1951. It was elected to the Football League proper in 1970, replacing Bradford Park Avenue. Home games are played at the Abbey Stadium which has a capacity of 9,617.

Turnover and pre-tax profit figures are in millions.