Skip to main content

"If you want some accessible but informative insight into football then I suggest you couldn't do better than the Political Economy of Football website, which is not only intelligible but comes with the added bonus of being written by Addicks fan Wyn Grant."
Ben Hayes - Charlton Athletic programme

Top Portuguese Clubs by Average Attendance - 2005-06-2008-09


FC Porto headed the list of top football clubs in Portugal, as ranked by average number of spectators at domestic league matches. The Portuguese Liga (sponsored by Sagres in 2008/09) is the top division of Portuguese professional football. Next division down is the Liga de Honra. The Liga is contested by sixteen clubs each season and is currently in its 74th edition (2009/10).

The competition is dominated by the so called "big three" - Benfica, FC Porto and Sporting, who had a total of 71 titles between them up to end 2009, with Belenenses and Boavista winning the other two.

Stats Table: 
FC Porto38680388703863038765
SL Benfica43055390103756035700
Sporting CP31640332852938026515
Vitoria Guimares15980140001957516580
Sporting Braga11550122301561510550
Académica Coimbra9865875068705975
CS Maritimo4325416558254940
Leixoes SC3200350050354175
Vitoria Setubal3835342532553835